Shan't We Tell The Vicar?
Shan't We Tell The Vicar?
Midnight Confession #20: Do These Grapes Taste Sour to You?
0:00
-0:23

Midnight Confession #20: Do These Grapes Taste Sour to You?

New audio confession!

I’ve watched Fleabag I don’t know how many times and I have to remind myself that yes, we’re all jealous of Phoebe Waller-Bridge, but no, we can’t all be Phoebe Waller-Bridge. We don’t all get to be the outliers, and that’s OK. (This also means we don’t have to date Martin McDonagh. The Pillowman was great, but he seems like… a lot to deal with.)

I think it’s a bit like what Dorian Corey said: “You don’t have to bend the whole world. I think it’s better to just enjoy it. Pay your dues, and enjoy it.”

Of course, this could all just be sour grapes. But I’ll maintain that sour grapes is a great coping mechanism.

Stuff I Did This Week: Recorded an episode of The OCD Stories, which will be up this coming Sunday! I had a great time talking with Stuart Ralph both at OCD Con and this past week. He’s not only very interesting, but very respectful, which is of utmost importance when you’re talking to people about their mental health histories, and sadly, not always the case.

Also, as I mentioned last time, Philosophy Tube did a charity Shakespeare stream to raise money for Samaritans (a UK mental health charity and suicide hotline), and I got to participate! It was so much fun! First I got to read Lady MacBeth, a character I’ve always had fun with (I used to do her “screw your courage to the sticking place” monologue for high school and college auditions—I was an intense and pretentious teenager, OK?), and Nurse in Romeo and Juliet, who I’ve always loved. (Man, that character is dirtier than I remembered; good on Natalie Wynn for going along with it.) They raised over $120,000!

Fake BBC Show of the Week: This Will Get Psychosexual Very Quickly (OK, that’s really more of a Sky or ITV thing, but so are a lot of my titles)

0 Comments
Shan't We Tell The Vicar?
Shan't We Tell The Vicar?
Thoughts, stories, and titles for imaginary BBC shows from Mara Wilson.