Shan't We Tell The Vicar?
Shan't We Tell The Vicar?
Midnight Confession #16: Imagine Fun
0:00
-0:47

Midnight Confession #16: Imagine Fun

A new installment of my late-night audio confessions!

Whoa-oh-OH-oh! Music aside, they’re both pretty obnoxious band names. Putting punctuation in your band name so it looks like people are saying “I don’t like fun.” when they dislike your band? Yeah, that’s annoying. (Although, I think by a lot of people’s standards, I don’t really like fun. I’m extremely risk-averse and very bad at enjoying things in the moment. Maybe it’s genetic: someone once told me there’s no word for “fun” in Russian.)

It reminds me of when I was in fourth grade and was really frustrated with my teacher’s insistence that my oral book report have an opening line that “grabbed their attention.” “Hey Dad, how’s this for an opener,” I said to him, “‘FIRE! Just kidding, but now that I have your attention, let me tell you about Ribsy by Beverly Cleary!’”

My dad was taken aback for a second, then, being the champion understater that he is, told me, “Well, that’s not exactly great literature.”

He was right. Instead, I opened by asking if anyone had anyone had ever heard of a dog “talking” on the phone, after a scene where the lost dog was found by a family who recognized him from the signs, called his owner, and let the dog bark over the phone. But I don’t think I did a very good job of explaining it, because when I asked if there were any questions, one kid immediately raised his hand and said, “When in the book does the dog learn how to talk?”

Talking dogs. Now that’s fun.

Fake BBC Show of the Week: Twizzled!

0 Comments
Shan't We Tell The Vicar?
Shan't We Tell The Vicar?
Thoughts, stories, and titles for imaginary BBC shows from Mara Wilson.